Monday, January 17, 2011

Scriptures of Sanatana Dharma - Brahmanas

Origional Text
The Brahmanas are explanations of Mantras or rituals, which give guidance to people as to how; the sacrificial rites are to be performed. They are explanations of the method of using the Mantras in Yajnas or other rites. Details for various ceremonies like birth, naming, study, marriage, death are in this portion. The Brahmana portion is suitable for householders (Grihastashram).
Brahmanas of Rig-veda
There are three Rig-vedic Brahmanas.
1. Ithareya Brahmana
2. Sankhayana Brahmana
3. Kausheethaki Brahmana
Brahmanas of Yajur-veda
There are three Yajur-vedic Brahmanas.
1. Shatapadha Brahmana
2. Thaiththareeya Brahmana
3. Maithrayaneeya Brahmana
Brahmanas of Sama-veda
There are nine Sama-vedic Brahmanas.
1. Jaimineeya Brahmana
2. Thandya Brahmana
3. Aarsheya Brahmana
4. Shadvimsadhi Brahmana
5. Chandhokya Brahmana
6. Samavidhana Brahmana
7. Abhootha Brahmana
8. Vamsa Brahmana
9. Samhithopanishathi Brahmana
Brahmanas of Atharva-veda
1. Gopadha Brahmana

No comments:

Post a Comment